November 26th, 2016

Post #8: Connections

The past few weeks have been insane. I’ve been incredibly busy, but the good kind of busy, the kind of busy spent with good people. And, in the rare moments of solitude throughout the insanity, I found myself thinking more about these people, and people in general.

Six Sundays ago, I went out for lunch with a friend I met in Junior High School. When we met all those years ago, we were friends, but never very close. After bumping into her on the bus several times in the last few months, we exchanged numbers and I told her to contact me if she ever wanted to meet. It was a wonderful surprise when she finally did. When we met up, we spent several hours together, and over those hours, I learned about all of her fascinating plans for the future, and got to know her better than I ever had. Our conversation was fantastic, and after parting ways, I was left with such an uplifting feeling.

That evening, I took a walk around my neighbourhood, and noticed the lights on in the rows of houses as the sky began to darken. Every person was living their individual lives, in their individual homes. Though while they were separated by the walls of their homes, they were connected. The families inside the homes were connected to their members, and whether they liked it or not, the families were connected to each other just by their proximity as neighbours.

The following Sunday, I went out to dinner with my best friend. We’ve been friends for over a decade, and somehow we’ve never done that before. We caught each other up on all the crazy things that had been happening in our lives, talked about our futures, relationships, and all the little things we don’t often talk to anyone else about. Even though we were in the middle of a crowded restaurant, it felt like it was just the two of us taking a break away from it all.

Then, that Friday night, I had my first ever official volunteer experience outside of school. I spent my evening at a Rock and Gem show, talking with a variety of fantastic and unique individuals. When I was finished my shift, I left wishing that I could do it again, simply because the volunteer coordinator was so friendly and easy to work with. When I got home later that night, I received my University acceptance letter for next year. Excited, I shared the news online, and friends and family members extended their congratulations. I am incredibly grateful for all of them, because, if they know it or not, that have all contributed to my getting the chance to do this, because they have supported me throughout my life and the education I have received up to this point.

One friend, after seeing my news, contacted me and asked me if I wanted to meet up when she came back to the city during a break from school. Pleasantly surprised, I immediately agreed. We met up for brunch 2 Tuesdays later. We spent 2 short hours catching up, and I was reminded once again how uplifting and wonderful it is to do so. I was also reminded of the importance of taking a few minutes out of your day just to send a friend a quick message to let them know that you are thinking of them. I will try to do this more often in the future.

Four days later, I took part in a community craft and bake sale with my mother. Our table was directly at the front of the building, and we spent the afternoon chatting with the other table hosts in the foyer. Each host in the area was selling something completely different, and they came from completely different lives. They all opened me up to products and ideas I had never previously seen.

Friend, family, or acquaintance, no matter where all of these people are now, where they will be in the future, and when I see them again, they have all contributed, and continue to contribute to who I am. I am a different person because of them, and I am so thankful for each and everyone of them. I now believe that even if you only really get to know someone for 5 minutes, that they are a part of your experience, and that they can profoundly impact you and the way you approach the world.

IMG_3065.JPG

Leave a Reply

